Raspberry PI: Install OpenElec that really works, AND FAST!

Leave a comment

July 1, 2013 by aubreykloppers

Ok guys and Girls

(This is a WINDOWS 7 instruction set.)

Over the last couple of days you must have realized that I got myself Raspberry PI.  The thing is, I have never really got it to run as successfully as everybody indicated.  Well, here is what I did, but fist, what you need:

  • HW: A Raspberry PI (Obviously) and a Power Supply.
  • HW: A SD card.  Any type will do.  (I will explain why, later.)
  • HW: A Memory Stick.
  • HW: A working Network Cable.
  • SW: MiniTool Partition Wizard. (http://www.partitionwizard.com)
  • SW: Raspberry Pi Openelec (http://openelec.tv)

Steps to do the installation using MiniTool Partition Wizard:

  • Create a 100MB, FAT32, PRIMARY, ACTIVE, partition on your SD card. (label: System)
  • Create a partition (I used the full size) , EXT4, PRIMARY partition on your Memory Stick. (label: Storage)

I then extracted the OpenElec software and ran the following commands from the directory created by the extracted files (In my setup, the SD card was mounted on G:\  :

copy target\KERNEL g:\kernel.img
copy target\SYSTEM g:\
copy 3rdparty\bootloader\*.* g:\
copy openelec.ico g:\
copy README.md g:\
copy cmdline.txt g:\

My cmdline.txt was changed to:

boot=/dev/mmcblk0p1 disk=/dev/sda1 console=ttyAMA0,115200 kgdboc=ttyAMA0,115200 console=tty1 ssh

I then changed the overclock settings to:

arm_freq=1000
core_freq=500
sdram_freq=500
over_voltage=6

I then LOCKED (Note, I LOCKED IT!!!)  the SD card to stop corruptions.  Rebooted …and BAM!!!  What a nice piece of hardware.  Fast, friendly and WOW, I can’t believe I did not move the /storage LONG ago…

cyber7-out

Leave a Reply

