Zimbra – my love-hate relationship!

Leave a comment

March 22, 2012 by aubreykloppers

I really love Zimbra, but it is a pain in the arse to setup!

One of the things that keeps getting me is that an email address will be marked as SPAM (Sometimes by accident, sometimes by Outlook’s bizarre behavior!).  The system does not warn you the email address is marked as spam, rather, the user (recipient) will phone you and say his/her friend’s mail is not reaching her.

At this stage, the only recourse I have is to drop the SPAM database and to recreate it.

The steps are as follows:

1. deleted the bayes_seen and bayes_toks files
(from /opt/zimbra/data/amavisd/.spamassassin directory)
2. restarted amavis
(with: zmamavisdctl restart)
3. added my domain into every user’s Whitelist
(with: zmprov ma $ac amavisWhitelistSender @<domain>)
-where $ac is every account in my domain

Pain-in-the-butt!

SIDE NOTE:

I was asked to clarify my statement on the first paragraph:  Outlook has a built-in training option to mark mail as spam.  Even though a domain/user has been defined as safe/white-listed, ever-so-often Outlook will add a user into the list.  I have an example where one of my company’s own addresses was marked as a known-spammer.

How Zimbra manage spammers:

  1. Every night (Morning) after making a backup, Amavis will go to each user’s spambox and add the users/topics into it’s spam database.
  2. This will become a system-wide setting.
  3. This happens because users do not only NOT look into their spamfolders at the end of the day, but also becuase of pure stupidity by users marking mail as SPAM…

I hope the statement gets cleared-up by this writing.

cyber7-out

Leave a Reply

